ODK Fall 2018 Applications Now Open

UPDATE: Applications for Fall 2018 are closed. Please look for applications to re-open on the first day of classes in Spring 2019.

Apply for membership to ODK!

The ODK Fall 2018 application is now available here. All applications must be submitted by 11:59pm on Friday, September 14, 2018. Good luck!

View of McKeldin Mall and the ODK Fountain looking towards Main Administration Building.


ODK Sigma Circle Elects New Board for 2018-19

Congratulations to our newly elected ODK Executive Board! We’re looking forward to seeing what they bring to ODK Sigma Circle in 2018-19.

Doron Tadmor, President
Jeff O’Neal, Vice President
Maria Viera Cuellar, Communications Chair
Elizabeth Arentz, Philanthropy & Community Service
Kevin Li, Events & Lectures
Katie Bemb, Public Relations
Sarah Joseph, Membership & Induction
Jacqueline Deprey, Digital Communications

Thank you, again, to our outgoing Board for their hard work and commitment to the Sigma Circle:

Uva Dayalan, Sam Koralnik, Samantha Levy, Trey Mason, Uday Misra, David Niezelski, Matthew Swetz, Rick Tagne Teta, Cece Ukejianya, Jacob Veitch, Ivy Xia, Jessica Yau


ODK Executive Board Elections for 2018-2019

View of Main Admin from the ODK Fountain

The ODK Sigma Circle will be holding elections for next year’s executive board this Tuesday, May 1 at 5:00 p.m. in the Margaret Brent Room of the Stamp Student Union. Current ODK members who are graduating in May 2019, or later, are encouraged to run for office. All members should plan on attending if they are able – you’ll be helping to select leadership for next year and to keep ODK a vital part of our campus community.

Notes on the Process:

  • There are nine offices on the ODK Executive Board. A listing of offices and responsibilities can be found here: ODK Officer Descriptions
  • Members interested in running for office should prepare a 1-2 minutes speech on why they should be selected for the position to deliver to the General Body. If they cannot be present for elections, interested candidates can have another member read a prepared statement on their behalf, or submit a video statement to odk@umd.edu to be played at elections.
  • Voting will take place by secret ballot for each position after all candidates have made their statement.

Things to know:

  • The board structure is very flat. All members of the board have input in matters pertaining to ODK.
  • Candidates are encouraged to keep running for an office if they do not receive their first choice. Again, all officers have a leadership stake on the board.
  • ODK receives a good deal of administrative support and advising from the University of Maryland and the Division of Student Affairs. You will have a dedicated group of professionals invested in your success.
  • If you have any questions, please contact odk@umd.edu.

Thanks to our outgoing class of Executive Officers, who have all done an outstanding job.

Jacob Veitch

Cece Ukejianya
Vice President

Ivy Xia
Communications Coordinator

Matthew Swetz
Philanthropy & Community Service Coordinator

Samantha Levy
Events Coordinator

Uva Dayalan and Uday Misra

Jessica Yau
Public Relations Coordinator/Communications Coordinator

Sam Koralnik
Membership Coordinator

Trey Mason
Digital Communications

David Niezelski
Officer At Large

Doron Tadmor
Officer At Large

Rick Tagne Teta
Officer At Large

Dean Chang Named ODK Sigma Circle Faculty Advisor

The ODK Sigma Circle is pleased to announce our new Faculty Advisor, Dean Chang!

Dr. Chang is the Associate Vice President for Innovation & Entrepreneurship at the University of Maryland. In that position, he leads the team at the Academy for Innovation and Entrepreneurship, which helps students and researchers cultivate an innovative and entrepreneurial spirit through design thinking, lean startup, and team-based experiential learning.

Dr. Chang previously led the technology startup venture programs in the Clark School of Engineering and before that was CTO and VP Gaming Business of Immersion Corporation, a venture-backed, Stanford University robotics lab spinout.

The Sigma Circle is excited to welcome Dr. Chang on board and we all look forward to working with him!

Jacob Veitch Selected as ODK Sigma Circle Leader of the Year

ODK Sigma Circle Leader of the Year Jacob VeitchOmicron Delta Kappa Sigma Circle is proud to announce the recipient of our 2018 Col. J. Logan Schutz ODK Leader of the Year Award: Jacob Veitch.

Jacob began his time here at the University of Maryland as a Group Tour Coordinator for Maryland Images and has also taken up roles as the State Chairman and UMD President of the Maryland Federation of College Republicans. He has also served as an Honors Ambassador, Honors College Student Programming Council Liaison, and a member of the Mighty Sound of Maryland. He is currently a member of the Smith School’s Dean’s Student Advisory Council, Co-Chair of the Business Honors Program, and is a former Business Analyst for Consult Your Community.

Jacob also serves as the ODK Sigma Circle President, a position he cites as the greatest privilege of his college career.

As the recipient of the Col. J. Logan Schutz ODK Leader of the Year Award, Jacob will be presented with a plaque at the University Awards Banquet in May and a $1,000 cash prize. He will also represent the Sigma Circle as our nominee for ODK’s General Russell E. Dougherty National Leader of the Year Award.

Congratulations, Jacob.

Spring 2018 Top Ten Freshmen and Sophomore Leaders of the Year Application

UPDATE: Applications for the Spring semester are now closed

Omicron Delta Kappa encourages freshmen and sophomores to strengthen their leadership skills by recognizing their achievement on campus. Students are encouraged to apply for the ODK Top Ten Freshmen and Sophomore Leader of the Year Awards. Applications must be completed by Friday, February 16, 2018 at 11:59 PM.

Apply today.

Congratulations to our Fall 2016 Inductees

To all our new Fall 2016 ODK Inductees, congratulations and welcome to the Sigma Circle of ODK!

In a ceremony held on Sunday, December 4th, the Sigma Circle inducted alumni members Art Schneider, Marianne Schneider, Ali von Paris and Wayne Willoughby, and four university faculty and staff members – Dean Chang, Leslie Brice, Courtney Holder, and Ashley Venneman.

Fall 2016 inductees pose for a picture on the steps of the Memorial Chapel after their induction ceremony on December 4.

Fall 2016 Undergraduate:

Alayna Abel, Suhayla Ahmed, Sylviane Alexion, Max An, Matthew Balfour, Ja’Nya Banks, Conor Briggi, Hyogene Cha, Michelle Cody, Ryan Daigle, Sarah Dean, Andrew Dunn, Samantha Enokian, Marcus Fedarko, Lara Fu, Margaret Gottlieb, Jamie Grossarth, Mirin Grover, Kevin Halliday, Samantha Higginbothem, Thomas James, Isaac Jeong, Mihir Khetarpal, Colin King, Summer Legambi, Sherry Levine, Samantha Levy, Nicole Lopez, Christopher Ma, Zoey Maggid, Uday Misra, Jessica Nahmias, Maria Pascale, Franz Payer, Kristen Pellicot, Namitha Ramakrishna, Mitchell Rock, Beth Rosen, Colton Seigel, Blake Sha, Courtney Steininger, Matthew Swetz, Caroline Tipton, Chetachi Ukejianya, Jacob Veitch, Christopher Walkup, Rachel Zemel, Melanie Zheng, and Benjamin Zimmitti

A reception was held in the Adele H. Stamp Student Union with remarks from new ODK inductee Dean Chang, Associate Vice President for Innovation & Entrepreneurship at the University of Maryland.

Congratulations once again to our newest inductees, and thank you to all who came out to support the Sigma Circle!