The University of Maryland is very honored to have had six of our members selected as the ODK National Leader of the Year – Marc Solomon in 1994, Hillary Cherry in 1997, Adam Chepenik in 2003, Joanna Calabrese in 2010, Emily Berry in 2021, and M Pease in 2022.

In 2004, with the help of a generous donation from Col. J. Logan Schutz, the Leader of the Year Award was renamed in his honor.


2022 Col. J. Logan Schutz Omicron Delta Kappa Leader of the Year


M is a senior Psychology major with minors in Asian American Studies and Public Leadership. They engage in student leadership and research efforts towards social justice and equity especially focusing on mental health disparities. Post-graduation, M will pursue doctoral study in counseling psychology working in support of marginalized communities.


Omicron Delta Kappa Sigma Circle Col. J. Logan Schutz Omicron Delta Kappa Leaders of the Year

1976-77 Fred Vogelgesang
1977-78 Clayton Powell
1978-79 John Fraser
1978-79 Larry Kirsch
1979-80 Jo Lynn Littman
1980-81 Marty Rosenstock
1981-82 Nancy Pearl
1982-83 Wendy Gelfand
1983-84 Matthew V. Zanger
1984-85 Michele Barone
1985-86 Devon McGraw
1986-87 Calvin Ellis
1987-88 Steven Vinick
1988-89 Shauna Paylor
1989-90 Bradley J. Federman *
1990-91 Michael D. Smith
1991-92 Dawn Nichols
1992-93 Marc Greenberg * & Sheryl-Lynn Caroff
1993-94 Marc W. Solomon **
1994-95 Paul Mandell
1995-96 Kelvin Reaves
1996-97 Hillary Cherry **
1997-98 Faiz Ahmad
1998-99 Paul A. Solomon
1999-2000 Larry A. Long
2000-01 Jason Ward *
2001-02 Peggy Wood
2002-03 Adam Chepenik **
2003-04 Christine Hwang *
2004-05 Christina Pernia
2005-06 Joe Williams
2006-07 Tim Lee *
2007-08 Shannon Auxier
2008-09 Raakee Sharma
2009-10 Joanna Calabrese **
2010-11 David Nelson
2011-12 OdunolaOjewumi
2012-13 Anna Roth
2013-14 Christopher Riley *
2014-15 Cara Hamel
2015-16 Kayla Coutts
2016-17 Samantha Bingaman *
2017-18 Jacob Veitch
2018-19 Rick Mikulis
2019-20 Christine Rhee *
2020-21 Emily Berry **
2021-22 M Pease **

* Also selected as Province/Region/Pillar Leader
** Also selected as ODK National Leader

The Leader of the Year Award was renamed in 2004-2005 as the Col. J. Logan Schutz Omicron Delta Kappa Leader of the Year Award in honor of Col. J. Logan Schutz, who served as President of the Sigma Circle in 1937-38 and continued as an active member and significant supporter of the programs of the Circle in addition to his many other contributions to the University of Maryland.




No Responses

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *