Col. J. Logan Schutz Omicron Delta Kappa Leader of the Year
Each year, Sigma Circle of Omicron Delta Kappa selects one of its members as the Col. J. Logan Schutz Omicron Delta Kappa Leader of the Year. This person may be selected nationally to represent one of the five  Pillars of Leadership and go on to compete for the very prestigious award of ODK National Leader of the Year.

The University of Maryland is very honored to have had four of our members selected as the ODK National Leader of the Year – Marc Solomon in 1994, Hillary Cherry in 1997, Adam Chepenik in 2003, and Joanna Calabrese in 2010.

In 2004, with the help of a generous donation from Col. J. Logan Schutz, the Leader of the Year Award was renamed in his honor.

Sophomore Leader of the Year and Top Ten Freshmen
In addition to its semesterly selection of new members, Omicron Delta Kappa seeks to encourage Freshmen and Sophomores to strengthen their leadership skills by recognizing their achievement on campus. To this end, ODK selects annually the Top Ten Freshmen and Sophomore Leader of the Year, using the same five areas of campus community life that are used in selecting regular members: Scholarship; Athletics; Campus or Community Service, Social, Religious Activities, and Campus Government; Journalism, Speech and the Mass Media; and the Creative and Performing Arts.